Houston High School

ACT Tuesday, March 29 for HHS Juniors

Posted in Uncategorized by houstonmustangs on March 24, 2011

HHS will be administering the ACT to all junior students on Tuesday, March 29.

Check out these resources from Mustang Virtual Prep, Houston’s online test prep website. Students should see Ms. Gilland in the Circulation Library if they need help logging on the sites.

ACT Online (Requires login)

Compass (Requires login)
Have a personalized learning path prescribed after an assessment of basic skills.

The amended schedule will be as follows:

1st Period: 7:00 – 8:20
2nd Period 8:25 – 9:45 *Remind A Lunch Students to Go Directly to Lunch
3rd Period 9:50 – 11:55
4th Period 12:00 – 12:55
5th Period 1:00 – 2:00

Lunch Schedule:
A 9:50 – 10:14
B 10:14 – 10:38
C 10:41 – 11:05
D 11:05 – 11:29
E 11:30 – 11:55 ( For ACT Juniors)

Comments Off on ACT Tuesday, March 29 for HHS Juniors

Congratulations! 2011 Tennessee HOSA Winners

Posted in Uncategorized by houstonmustangs on March 4, 2011

56 HOSA students attended the state conference and 28 qualified to attend the 2011 National Leadership during June in Anaheim, CA. HOSA stands for Heath Occupation Students of America sponsored by Donna Reed.

Sonika Bang was elected 2011-12 TN HOSA Secretary/Treasurer

Health Science Events

First Place Dental Terminology – Matthew Billiard

First Place Medical Terminology – Morgan Neil

Second Place Medical Math – Jonathan Barron

Knowledge Tests

Second Place Pharmacology – Max Schwam

Health Professions Events

Third Place Physical Therapy – Katie Mealer

Fourth Place Biotechnology – Aylissa Flynn

Emergency Preparedness Events

Third Place Community Emergency Response Team – Matt Carnell & Taylor Wolford

Leadership Events

First Place Prepared Speaking – Alexis Westbrook

Teamwork Events

First Place Forensic Medicine – Casey Waits, Rahul Peravali

First Place HOSA Bowl – Nick Boden, Sowmya Kalava, Taevin Lewis, Ashley Vaught

Second Place Parliamentary Procedure – Hannah Bowers, Sarah Schmidt, Madison Smith,

Lauren Jeu, Karishma Bang, Sushma Kalava, Sarah Richardson

Second Place Public Service Announcement – Kinzie Blink, Bailey Cope, Karah Jackson,

Ellen Novotny, Kris Ruaro, Brittany Wood

Fourth Place Medical Reading – Andrew Paladino, Abby Sines, Eman Yusuf

National Recognition Program

Sonika Bang, Nick Boden, Hannah Bowers, Bryan Carmichael, Nick Cornwell, Caroline Crosthwait, Ken Gentner, Shelby Glass, Sowmya Kalava, Morgan Neil, Sarah Schmidt, Max Schwam, Kinley Scott, Maddie Smith, Johnjohn Sun, Ashley Vaught, Casey Waits

Barbara James Service Award Sowmya Kalava, Sushma Kalava, Nathan Powell, and Madison Smith

Houston’s HOSA Chapter received recognition for donating $4,325.28 to JDRF, and for participation in HOSA Week.  HHS HOSA received a Gold Level Membership Award for the largest HOSA chapter in TN with 195 members.

HHS HOSA has had 385 regional winners, 217 state winners, & 65 national winners.

Comments Off on Congratulations! 2011 Tennessee HOSA Winners